Tuesday, October 07, 2008


Press Release
October 7, 2008

2008 Blues Blast Music Award Ceremonies
- Nov. 2nd, 2008 at Buddy Guy’s Legends

Who: Blues Blast Magazine from IllinoisBlues.com

What: 2008 Blues Blast Music Awards Ceremony

Where: Buddy Guy’s Legends - 754 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago, IL 60605,
Tel. (312)-427-1190

When: Sunday, November 2nd, 2008 - 7:00 pm to 12:00 midnight
(Doors open at 6:00 pm)

Tickets are just $25 and will be available online at www.illinoisblues.com starting October 7th.

Contact Information: Bob Kieser (309) 267-4425 or info@illinoisblues.com

The 2008 Blues Blast Music Award Ceremonies, to be held at the famous Buddy Guy’s Legends club, will include confirmed appearances by nominees Magic Slim & The Teardrops, Lurrie Bell, Nick Moss, John Nemeth, The Kilborn Alley Blues Band, Dave Riley & Bob Corritore, Eden Brent, Sugar Ray Norcia, Teeny Tucker, Tim "Too Slim" Langford (from Too Slim and the Taildraggers), and Gina Sicilia. There may be a few surprise appearances by other nominees.

The 2008 Blues Blast Music Awards are brought to you by Blues Blast Magazine from IllinoisBlues.com. Blues Blast Magazine is the fastest growing FREE weekly internet Blues magazine read by over 11,000 Blues fans in all 50 states and in more than 40 countries.

In July, Blues Blast magazine staff, music writers, managers, musicians and other industry professionals nominated the Blues best of 2008 in the following eight categories: Best Contemporary Blues Recording, Best Traditional Blues Recording, Best Blues Song,
Best Blues Band, Best Male Blues Artist, Best Female Blues Artist, Best New Artist Debut Recording, and the Sean Costello Rising Star Award. The complete list of nominees is listed below at the end of this press release.

In July and August, Blues Blast magazine readers voted for their favorites on our website. These awards truly are the “People's Choice” without any filter. The voting was absolutely FREE and more than 2,000 fans from all over the globe voted their choices. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony.

This event promises to be a great show with music by some of the best established and new contemporary Blues artists. The show will likely sell out, so get your tickets as soon as possible.

Complete list of 2008 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees:

Best Contemporary Blues Recording

Too Slim and the Taildraggers – The Fortune Teller
Bryan Lee – Katrina Was Her Name
Mem Shannon – Live: A Night At Tipitina’s
Watermelon Slim & The Workers - The Wheel Man
Holmes Brothers - State Of Grace

Best Traditional Blues Recording

Omar Dykes & Jimmy Vaughan - On The Jimmy Reed Highway
Bobby Rush - Raw
Lurrie Bell - Let's Talk About Love
Dave Riley & Bob Corritore - Travelin’ the Dirt Road
David "Honeyboy" Edwards - Roamin’ & Ramblin’

Best Blues Song

Nick Moss - Mistakes From the Past
The National Debonaires - Ain't Gonna Happen Again
Sugar Ray Norcia - Little Green Talking Frog
Omar Dykes & Jimmy Vaughan - Jimmy Reed Highway
Watermelon Slim & The Workers - The Wheel Man

Best Blues Band

Nick Moss & the Fliptops
Kilborn Alley Blues Band
Bryan Lee & The Blues Power Band
Magic Slim & The Teardrops
Back Door Slam

Best Male Artist

Lurrie Bell
Buddy Guy
Bobby Rush
Nick Moss
Bryan Lee

Best Female Artist

Koko Taylor
Teeny Tucker
Diunna Greenleaf
Betty Harris
Bettye LaVette

Best New Artist Debut Recording

Gina Sicilia - Allow Me To Confess
The Soul of John Black - The Good Girl Blues
Moreland & Arbuckle - 1861
Diunna Greenleaf & Blue Mercy - Cottonfields to Coffee
John Nemeth - Magic Touch

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

John Nemeth
Homemade Jamz Blues Band
John-Alex Mason
Seth Walker
Eden Brent



No comments: